Minutes Asian Aerosol Research Assembly(AARA) Hong Kong, January 7, 2004

Attendees : M. Choi, S.S. Kim, Y.S. Kim, C.S. Wang, C.J. Tsai, P. Biswas, L. Yang, Y. Iwasaka, S. Silikalaya, C.S. Yuan, C. C. Chao, M. Fang, C.K. Chan, A. Lau

- 1. Dr. M. Fang reported the summary of 3rd Asian Aerosol Conference (see the attached statistics).
- 2. AARA Constitution has been reviewed and finalized (final version is attached).
- 3. The host association for 4th Asian Aerosol Conference has been selected from two applications(India and Taiwan). India (IASTA) was selected as the next host country to hold the 4th Asian Aerosol Conference.
- 4. (a)The establishment of Asian Young Aerosol Scientist Award has been approved. The names of sponsors should not be included in the Award itself, but shall be acknowledged in the announcement of the Award.

(b) Award committee to prepare the detailed selection and awarding procedure has been established : Chair : C.J. Tsai. The names of two additional committee members (one from JAAST and the other from KAPAR) should be provided to C.J. Tsai. The Secretary is supposed to inform this decision to TSI.

5. New officers were selected.

Next President and Secretary will be immediately nominated as soon as by JAAST (Prof. Iwasaka) informs the names to the Secretary (M. Choi).

Vice President : Dr. Y.S. Mayya (India)

6. Three associations (JAAST from Japan, KAPAR from Korea and CAART from Taiwan) expressed their willingness to donate a certain amount of money to support the finance of AARA.